Sam Curran returns to England squad for Dutch ODIs |

Sam Curran has not played international cricket since August 2021

Pacer Luke Wood won his first call-up as the England and Wales Cricket Board named a 14-man ODI squad to take on the Netherlands in a historic three-game series from Amstelveen on June 17. This is the first time that the England men’s team will face the Netherlands in an ODI series.

Pacer David Payne has also been included in the squad after being named for Pakistan’s ODIs last summer but not getting a game. Sam Curran also returns to the white ball setup after being sidelined for six months with a stress fracture in his back. Brydon Carse and Phil Salt, who both made their debuts against Pakistan last summer, deserve recalls from the ODI side.

“I’m very happy to be coaching a strong team for my first series in charge,” England white ball head coach Matthew Mott said on Tuesday (31 May). “We have huge depth with a mix of youth and experience. We want to continue playing in an expressive style and let our players show their skills and firepower.

“Luke Wood deserves his call-up. He’s been consistent for Lancashire over the last 12 months and we’ve been following his progress. If he gets the chance to play I’m sure he’ll make the most of his opportunity.”

Jason Roy will return to action after opting to skip the IPL to spend time with his family, while Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, David Willey and Liam Livingstone return from their IPL stints.

“It’s a historic occasion for the sport and the first time the men of England have faced the Netherlands in an ODI series. We can’t wait to get to Amsterdam and put on a show for the thousands of fans who travel to support the team.

“The ODI squad had limited opportunities and last played in July. However, with around 18 months until the next ICC 50 World Cup in India, our preparation will start to ramp up with nine matches over the summer and a busy winter ahead against strong opponents.”

The three ODIs will be played on June 17, 19 and 22 respectively.

Crew: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey, Luke Wood.

Comments are closed.