Finalists announced at the Rotterdam International Conducting Competition


The inauguration Rotterdam International Conducting Competition Today announced its six 2021/2022 winners.

“ICCR is introducing a new term that matches the unique structure of the competition,” said the executive director of the event. Rob hilberink told The Violin Channel.

“The six conductors are invited not to compete, but to take the stage and present themselves in the best possible way in five full-fledged projects. Last week they all turned out destined for podium careers. demands a title that expresses this expectation, as all six are nominated to become winners. “

The 2021/2022 winners are:

  • Carlos greda (Colombia)
  • Bertie Baigent (UK)
  • Martijn Dendievel (Belgium)
  • Chloe rookie (UK)
  • Joel sandelson (UK)
  • Luis Toro Araya (Chile)

Open to international conductors aged 23 to 35, the winner of the Grand Prize will receive € 15,000.

The final stages of the competition will take place in May and June 2022, with each nominated winner having the opportunity to conduct the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the Rotterdam Symphony Chorus, the Sinfonia Rotterdam, the Doelen Ensemble and the 18th Century Orchestra.

The new format, lasting six rounds and two years, will allow young conductors to work with many orchestras and test all ranges, specialties, genres and styles.

Each round will include rehearsals and a final concert, both judged by the jury and open to the public.

“ICCR was conceived over 6 years ago”, executive director of the event Rob hilberink told The Violin Channel. “It was born out of the idea that there were very few high-level opportunities for young conductors in the world.”

“As a young conductor, there are very few opportunities to play on ‘your instrument’, and you rarely get the chance to work with a top orchestra and even then it never happens in front of you. so many influential people from all walks of life. in the world, “he said.

“It is both a fantastic learning experience and a showcase at the same time.”

The competition will have separate juries for each round. They must include: Michel van der Aa, Giordino Bellincampi, Anja Bihlmaier, Deborah Borda, Karina Canelakkis, Jonathan Darlington, Sian Edwards, Jane Glover, Ara Guzelimian, Antony Hermus, Ton Koopman, Sophie de Lint, Sir James MacMillan, Wayne Marshall, Kenneth Montgomery, Franck Ollu, Lahav Shani, Ed Spanjaard, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Maxim Vengerov, Benjamin Wallfisch, George Wiegel, Joshua Weilerstein, Elmar Weingarten, John Wilson and Yip Wing Sie.

The Violin Channel, as the competition’s official international media and broadcast partner, will provide streaming coverage directly from Rotterdam.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.